Reviewing DUI Charges And Penalties

Posted on Posted in Legal

In North Carolina, all drivers are required to comply with all drunk driving laws. If they drive with any blood-alcohol content reading beyond the legal limit, they can be convicted and face serious penalties. The following is a review of these penalties and requirements for a DUI.

Defining a DUI Charge

The state can charge a driver with a DUI based on their blood-alcohol content reading. The current percentage denoting a DUI is 0.08% for all drivers over the age of 21. Commercial drivers cannot drive with a blood-alcohol content reading of 0.04%. The state has a zero tolerance law for all drivers under the age of 21. If they have any percentage, they can be convicted. Additionally, anyone who has a previous conviction is guilty if they have a content reading of 0.04%.

Administrative DUI Penalties

Currently, the administrative penalty for DUI is a driver’s license suspension in addition to the applied criminal penalties. For the first offense, the driver incurs a suspension of one year. For a second conviction, they receive four years. Any conviction beyond the second DUI conviction results in a permanent suspension of the driver’s license. However, drivers are eligible for a hearing in three years.

Reviewing DUI Penalties

Under North Carolina state laws, a level 5 DUI charge equates to a license suspension of 30 days. The driver will pay a fine of no more than $200. They will spend up to sixty days in county lockup. They are also required to enter into a treatment program for alcoholism.

A level 4 DUI equates to a thirty-day license suspension as well. The fine increases to up to $500. The driver can spend up to 120 days in county lockup. They will also be required to enter a treatment program.

A level 3 DUI conviction requires the same license suspension with a fine up to $1,000. The driver could face a sentence of up to six months in prison. They are also required to complete community service.

In North Carolina, all drivers who fail to comply with drunk driving laws face penalties. These convictions could equate to a felony charge after the third conviction. Anyone who is facing these charges can visit powersmccartan.com for more information.